High-School All Star Game to be telecast LIVE on Fox Sports Asia

MARCH 3, 2015 (Manila) – SLAM PHILIPPINES, the #1 ‘in your face’ basketball magazine, is bringing together once again Metro Manila’s top 24 high school basketball players for the second annual SLAM Rising Stars Classic, happening this Sunday, March 29, 2015.  

The country’s premier high school all-star game will return once again to the Gatorade Hoops Center, the official venue of this annual event, in Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City, and will be carried LIVE on Fox Sports Asia, with coverage starting at 7PM.

“Dreams are strongest among the young. As such, SLAM Philippines believes in continuing to help young dreamers chase their big dreams. For the 2015 SLAM Rising Stars Classic, our commitment to highlight the future of Philippine hoops grows even stronger,” said Mico Halili, SLAM Philippines’ Editor-in-Chief. We're gathering the best high school players. We're placing them on the biggest stage. We continue to believe in the power of their basketball dreams. ”

The inaugural event last year included such blue chip players as UAAP Srs. Rookie Of The Year Arvin Tolentino (ADMU), UAAP Srs. Champion Rev Diputado (NU), as well as NCAA Srs. Champions Radge Tongco and Javee Mocon (San Beda). Former UAAP Jrs Finals MVP Hubert Cani helped Team Hype stave off a late rally in the fourth quarter by Team Punks, led by former UAAP Jrs. MVP Thirdy Ravena, clinging on to a 93-90 victory in a thrilling back and forth battle. Cani won MVP game honors, finishing with 19 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, and 2 steals.

Here are the final rosters:

Team Hype - coached by Joe Silva (Ateneo de Manila)
Carlo Abadeza (Arellano)
Andrei Caracut (San Beda)
Mike Dela Cruz (La Salle Greenhills)
Mark Dyke (National University)
Darius Estrella (Jose Rizal University)
Christian Fajarito (Far Eastern University)
Jollo Go (Hope Christian High School)
Enzo Navarro (San Sebastian)
Matt Nieto (Ateneo de Manila)
Mikel Panlilio (International School Manila)
Ricci Rivero (La Salle Greenhills)
Noah Webb (De La Salle Zobel)

Team Punks - coached by Gian Nazario (De La Salle Zobel)
Niko Abatayo (San Beda)
Denniel Jay Aguirre (Mapua)
Quinito Banzon (De La Salle Zobel)
Brandrey Bienes (Far Eastern University)
Wendelino Comboy (Far Eastern University)
JV Gallego (Chiang Kai Shek College)
JBoy Gob (La Salle Greenhills)
Aljun Melecio (De La Salle Zobel)
Jolo Mendoza (Ateneo de Manila)
Mike Nieto (Ateneo de Manila)
Tyler Tio (Xavier School)
JD Tungcab (Adamson)

Take a look at their profiles here.

This annual event is fueled by Gatorade, and supported by adidas – the official outfitter of the second annual Slam Rising Stars Classic, and Smart Sports.

For more information, log on to, or follow SLAMPHILIPPINES on Facebook, @slamonlineph on Twitter and Instagram. Also, use #SLAMRisingStars.

You may also contact:

Next Post »
0 Comment