The 2013 Filoil Flying V Preseason Premier Cup: June 12, 2013 Roundup

The UE Red Warriors not only handed the NU Bulldogs their first Filoil defeat in two years. They also clinched their second Filoil crown in the process. And now, seemingly out of nowhere, UE looks like a smart Final Four bet in Season 76 of the UAAP. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. That’s still a long way to go. For now, let us enjoy the beauty of an underdog victory, and toast to the  new Kings of Summer.

Charles Mammie just took over.

In Wednesday’s first game, the San Beda Red Lions leaned on four players scoring in double-figures to claim their fourth straight Filoil crown at the expense of the NU Bullpups, 64-60. Radge Tongco ran the point well, scoring 15 points on top of 4 assists, while frontliner Javee Mocon scattered 14 markers and 10 boards. Mocon was also named MVP of the Juniors Division. Joshua Caracut and Jess Diputado scored 11 and 10 points respectively for the Bedans, who are heavily favored to lift the Juniors tropy anew in the coming NCAA season. Mythical Five member Mark Dyke led NU with 17 points and a herculean 19 rebounds, but he got little help elsewhere. John Cauilan and Hubert Cani shot a combined 8-of-37 from the field to finish with just 21 points.

Javee Mocon led San Beda to its fourth Juniors crown in a row.

The second game saw the DLSU Lady Archers escape and secure the Women’s crown after scraping past the FEU Lady Tamaraws, 53-51. The Archers led at the start of the fourth frame and had to brush off a spirited rally from the Moraytans, who suffered their second defeat of the tourney. DLSU, meanwhile won its sixth straight game, going undefeated on its way to the title. Trish Piatos was the only Greenie in double-figures with 16 points, hitting four triples along they way. Cass Santos backed her up with a solid 9-point, 9-rebound effort.

The LAdy Archers celebrate after winning the Women's Division!

In the third game, the San Beda Red Lions salvaged some pride by beating the UST Growling Tigers for third place, 74-70. Once again, Baser Amer showcased his playmaking awesomeness, scoring 15 points, grabbing 7 rebounds and handing out 3 assists for the Mendiola-based squad. Rome Dela Rosa bounced back from a subpar semifinal outing, scoring 13 markers while Ola Adeogun, Kyle Pascual, and Arthur Dela Cruz combined for 34 points, 28 rebounds, and 7 blocks. Jeric Teng waxed hot from long range, hitting 50% of his FG attempts to end up with a game-high 27 points while also hauling down 7 rebounds and having 4 assists. Karim Abdul also did well with a dozen markers, 9 ribbies, and 3 rejections, but the Tigers were plagued by inferior FG shooting (32%) and 11 missed free throws.

Aljon Mariano continued to struggle for UST.

Baser Amer led the Lions in salvaging third place.

The final match of the day resulted in the UE Red Warriors shocking the collegiate hoops world by beating erstwhile unblemished NU, 81-68. The Warriors actually trailed heading into the payoff period, but Roi Sumang sparked a key run that enabled UE to lift its second Filoil crown. Sumang registered 18 points, 9 boards, and 6 assists in a scintillating display of skill that has made him a favorite to become the UAAP’s best PG this coming season. Former CESAFI star Ralf Olivarez also delivered for coach Boysie Zamar, dropping 19 points and collaring 8 caroms. Already, he’s being seen as this season’s “Aljon Mariano.” Lord Casajeros shot well and finished with 16 points, while Charles Mammie ruled the paint with 10 points and TWENTY ONE rebounds. He thoroughly outplayed the Bulldog frontline tandem of Alfred Aroga and Emmanuel Mbe, who could only muster 12 points and 14 rebounds combined. Ray Parks led NU in the losing effort, filling the stat-sheet with 23 points, 7 rebounds, 5 assists, 3 steals, and 2 blocks, but, once again, the Bulldogs faltered when it mattered most.

Not even the sublime production of Ray Parks
could tow NU to another Filoil title.

Roi Sumang has blossomed into maybe the best local PG
outside of the PBA.

Box Scores:
SBC 64 Tongco 15, Mocon 14, Caracut 11, Diputado 10, Tolentino 4, Gumtang 3, Abatayo 2, Decapia 2, Furague 2, Abuda 1, Abude 0
NU 60 – Dyke 17, Cauilan 11, Cani 10, Mosqueda 8, Battad 8, Lapiz 2, Lopena 2, Go 2, Castillo 0, Claveria 0, Manalang 0
QS: 12-10, 35-23, 46-41, 64-60

DLSU 53 Piatos 16, Santos 9, Sbaca 8, Corcuera 6, Ramos 4, Melendres 3 Claro 3, Garcia 2, Ong 2, Scott 0, Vergara 0, Revillosa 0, Oyao 0
FEU 51 – Sambile 20, Soriano 9, Siat 8, Gesalan 8, Valenzona 4, Tanaman 2, Gabriel 0, Albano 0, Chan 0, Arellado 0, Castro 0
QS: 8-14, 28-22, 43-37, 53-51

SBC 74 -
Amer 15, Dela Rosa 13, Adeogun 12, Pascual 12, Dela Cruz 10, Mendoza 4, Abarcar 4, Koga 2, Ludovice 2, A Semerad 0, D Semerad 0, Sara 0, Villaruz 0
UST 70 - Teng 27, Abdul 12, Mariano 9, Buatista 9, Lo 6, Daquioag 5, So 2, Pe 0, Ferrer 0, Sherrif 0, Tan 0, Macasaet 0, Lao 0, Hainga 0
QS: 17-16, 32-35, 53-52, 74-70

UE 81 – Olivarez 19, Sumang 18, Casajeros 16, Mammie 10, Jumao-as 8, Javier 6, Noble 2, Hernandez 2, Santos 0, Sumido 0, Guion 0, Flores 0
NU 68 – Parks 23, Alolino 12, Mbe 7, Villamore 6, Javillonar 5, Rosario 5, Aroga 5, Alejandro 3, Rono 2, Neypes 0, De Guzman 0
 QS: 14-16; 36-32; 47-55; 81-68

Unless otherwise specified, all images are by Jan Dizon/

Next Post »
1 Comment

you are invited to follow my blog